Ads

Although I am fascinated by smart advertising and for-a-cause advertising, I was always skeptical about the aggressiveness, the lies and the excessive stereotypes that some of these ads create.

One of my favorite books is “99 Francs” by Frederic Beigbeder, in it, he draws a rather crude picture of the consumerism society.

Here are some of the book’s quotes (translated in English):

I am the one who enters your brain. Your desire is no longer yours: I impose my own. It is I who decides today what you will want tomorrow. When, after a lot of savings, you manage to buy the car of your dreams, I have already made it outdated.”

“I am among those who make you dream of things that you will never have. Blue skies, beautiful chicks, perfect happiness retouched in Photoshop. Do you think I embellish the world? Wrong, I screw it up.”

Beware,

M

2 responses to “Ads”

  1. MS says :

    Excellent.

  2. Diane says :

    yes excellent… helas…

Leave a comment