Your Regular John Doe

Once, when we were kids, my sister and I went with my dad to pick my mother up from the airport. The wait was rather long and so we decided to entertain ourselves with a game: we would try to draw a quick picture of the life of the next person coming out of the arrival gate. We based our stories on their faces, the people who picked them up, their smile, their luggage, the way they are dressed, etc.. It was a LOT of fun. Although back then it was just to waste time, crack jokes, and laugh, today, I still do it in my head. When I’m waiting for something in public places, I observe the people passing by and try to imagine where they are going, where they are coming from, what their story is…

In a way, it is kind of liberating to know that to all these people, you could be anything, just like they are to you.

Song of the day: “Piano Man”- Billy Joel

(Wink to McAllister 🙂 )

“It’s a pretty good crowd for a Saturday,
And the manager gives me a smile
Cause he knows that it’s me they’ve been coming to see
To forget about life for awhile.”

M

One response to “Your Regular John Doe”

  1. Marc says :

    Tu es genial 🙂

Leave a comment